BT celebrates top innovators in annual awards

The technology that will enable the future growth of BT’s global voice network has scooped a BT Innovation Award.

​The BT Innovate & Design project team leading the development of session distribution Interworking network (SDIN) picked up the Gold Award for Innovation across BT.

Presenting the award at the BT Tower in London, BT Innovate & Design chief executive and BT Group chief information officer Clive Selley highlighted the extraordinary growth the network has enabled through products such as the global Internet Protocol exchange.

After all the winners were announced, Clive said: “These awards are hugely important because they identify, recognise and celebrate your innovation achievements.

“Innovation is one of the key enablers to growth and is therefore critical to BT's success in building a better business for a better future.”

In the other award categories, Kristan Farrow, Derek Nesset, Albert Rafel, Ian Cooper, Trevor Morsman, and Paul Wright won the Gordon Radley award for best scientific paper.

And Trevor Linney, Philip Everett, Chris Croot, and Ashley Pickering won the Sir Alan Rudge award for best patent.

Kevin Foster – who won the Martlesham Medal for Lifetime Achievement for his work on the access platform – said: “I am so touched to be receiving this award.

“I remember always wanting to work at BT and in Adastral – I have enjoyed all 28 years I have worked here and to be honoured tonight is very, very special.”

Back to articles