The EAB comprises five members (a BT Group plc non-executive director and chairman of the EAB; a BT senior manager; and three independent members). 

Isabel Hudson, ChairmanIsabel Hudson

Isabel joined the BT Board on 1 November 2014 and is chair of the BT Pensions Committee and the Equality of Access Board. Isabel is also a member of the Nominating & Governance Committee.

Isabel joined the NHBC Board on 1 June 2011 as Deputy Chairman, and was appointed Chairman in November 2011. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of Phoenix Group Holdings and Standard Life.

Isabel was previously an Executive Director of Prudential’s UK business and Chairman of Prudential International Assurance between 2002 and 2006, and established and served as Chief Executive of specialised pension buyout firm Synesis Life from 2006 to 2008.

Isabel also held positions as Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of Eureko from 1999 to 2002, and was the International Development Director for GE Insurance Holdings Limited from 1996 to 1999. Further Non-Executive Director positions held have included, MGM Advantage, The Pension Regulator and QBE Insurance Group.

Isabel is also an ambassador for the disability charity, SCOPE. 

Edward AstleEdward Astle, Independent

Edward was Pro Rector Enterprise at Imperial College London from 2008 to 2013. Since 2009 he has also been a non-executive director and member of the Risk & Audit Committee of Intertek, the FTSE 100 international testing and inspecting group. Edward was executive director of National Grid plc from 2001 to 2008, responsible for telecommunications-related businesses (most notably wireless infrastructure); non-executive chair of three telecommunications ventures 1999-2001; managing director of BICC Communications (and a director of BICC Group) from 1997 to 1999; and an executive and regional director of Cable & Wireless plc from 1989 to 1997. Previously he held senior business strategy positions in the UK and France. He is vice chair of the Shannon Trust and a non-executive member of the board of the University of Manchester.

Emin GurdenliEmin Gurdenli, Independent 

Emin is a founding member and the chairman of Azenby, an independent advisory business for the wireless industry, and an independent director on the board of Bakcell in Azerbaijan. Beyond those roles, Emin advises private equity firms and technology start-up companies. His career has included ten years in R&D with BT and start-up experience of building and operating T-Mobile’s UK network. Then, in the last ten years, he has held executive roles in Deutsche Telekom and most recently was in charge of network services in Everything Everywhere. Emin has served as a board member of T-Mobile International (UK) and Mobile Broadband Networks Ltd, as well as being a board observer with Nomad Digital and Ubiquisys.  

Stephanie ListonStephanie Liston, Independent

Stephanie is business development director of Fentiman Consultants Limited, associate director of Innovation Advisors, chairs the International Chapters Committee of the Federal Communications Bar Association and has been a senior partner in a number of leading law firms.

She served as a non-executive director of Ofcom and as a member of its Audit Committee from 2005 to 2008, an advisory board member of Orga Systems GmbH from 2010 to 2014, a director of the European Competitive Telecommunications Association (ECTA) from 2000 to 2005 and co-chairman of the Communications Committee of the International Bar Association from 2004-2006.

Dr Tim Whitley, BT senior managerDr Tim Whitley
BT senior manager

Tim is managing director of Research and Innovation and of BT’s Adastral Park research and development facility. He started working for BT in 1981 as an apprentice engineer in North Wales, and has since held roles in areas including optics research, technology consultancy and technical architecture and has served as BT’s Group Strategy Director. Tim is also a Policy Fellow with the Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge.

EAB Secretary

The EAB is supported by the EAB Secretary, who ensures the EAB meets all of its governance and legal obligations under the Undertakings and supports the EAB Chairman in managing the activities and operations of the EAB. The Secretary is Lucy Williams. 

The EAB signed Terms of Reference as required by the Undertakings.