BT Group logo
Summary Financial Statement
Statutory information
image image Sir Christopher Bland
Chairman D* F*
Appointed to the Board as Chairman on 1 May 2001. Sir Christopher has been chairman of the BBC since 1 April 1996. He became a non-executive director of LWT Holdings in 1982 and chairman from 1983 until 1994 when the company was acquired by Granada Group. He was chairman of NFC from December 1994, to May 2000. Sir Christopher was chairman of the Hammersmith and Queen Charlotte’s Hospitals Special Health Authority from 1982 to 1994 and of Hammersmith Hospitals NHS Trust from 1994 to February 1997. Aged 62.
Executive Directors
image   Sir Peter Bonfield CBE
Chief Executive A*
Sir Peter Bonfield FREng FIEE joined BT in January 1996 as Chief Executive. He was formerly chairman and chief executive of ICL. Aged 56. Other appointments: non-executive director of AstraZeneca Group; a member of the international advisory board of Salomon Smith Barney; vice president of the British Quality Foundation.
image   Philip R Hampton
Group Finance Director A E
Philip Hampton joined BT on 1 November 2000 as Group Finance Director. He is an Associate of the Institute of Chartered Accountants. He was formerly a board member of the BG Group and previously had been executive director for finance at British Steel. Aged 47.
    Key to membership of principal Board committees
A Executive B Audit C Remuneration D Nominating
E Pensions F Community Support * Chairs committee

In addition to the directors shown here, Robert Brace and Keith Oates served on the Board until their retirement as directors on 31 December 2000, as did Bill Cockburn and Sir Iain Vallance until their retirement on 31 March 2001 and 1 May 2001, respectively. Following his retirement from the Board, Sir Iain remains with BT as President Emeritus. All of the non-executive directors are considered independent of the management of the company.