Annual Review and summary financial statement BT Logo

Annual review > Board of directors

Download pdf | print this page

Board of directors

Sir Christopher Bland

Ben Verwaayen

Dr Paul Reynolds

Andy Green

Sir Christopher Bland 

Appointed to the Board as Chairman on 1 May 2001. Sir Christopher was chairman of the BBC from 1996 to 2001. He became a non-executive director of LWT Holdings in 1982 and was chairman from 1983 to 1994, when LWT was acquired by the Granada Group. Sir Christopher is a former chairman of an NHS hospital trust. Aged 65.
Other appointments: senior adviser at Warburg Pincus and chairman of the Royal Shakespeare Company.
D* E* F





Pierre Danon

Ian Livingston

Pierre Danon
Chief Executive, 
BT Retail

Pierre Danon, a French national, was appointed to the Board on 19 November 2001. From 1981 to 2000, he worked for Rank Xerox, latterly as president of Xerox Europe. Aged 48.
Other appointments: non-executive director of Emap.
Non-executive directors

Sir Anthony Greener

Louis R Hughes

Maarten van den Burgh

John Nelson

Sir Anthony Greener
Deputy Chairman

Sir Anthony Greener was appointed to the Board on 1 October 2000. He is Deputy Chairman and senior independent director. He chairs the Audit and Remuneration Committees. He was formerly chairman of Diageo. Aged 63. 
Other appointments: chairman of University for Industry (learndirect) and the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority; non-executive director of Robert Mondavi Corporation. 
Louis R Hughes
Louis Hughes, a US national, joined the Board on 1 January 2000. He is non-executive chairman of Maxager Technology Inc. (USA). Previous roles include president and chief operating officer of Lockheed Martin Corporation and executive vice president of General Motors. Aged 55.
Other appointments: non-executive director of AB Electrolux (Sweden), Sulzer AG and ABB Ltd (both Switzerland). 
Maarten van den Bergh
Maarten van den Bergh, a Dutch national, was appointed to the Board on 1 September 2000. He retired in 2000 as president of the Royal Dutch Petroleum Company and vice chairman of its committee of managing directors. Aged 62.
Other appointments: chairman of Lloyds TSB Group; non-executive director of Royal Dutch Petroleum Company and British Airways. 
B C D F*
John Nelson
John Nelson, a Chartered Accountant, was appointed to the Board on 14 January 2002. He retired as chairman of Credit Suisse First Boston Europe (CSFB) on 31 January 2002. Prior to joining CSFB in January 1999, he was vice chairman of Lazard Brothers from 1990. Aged 56.
Other appointments: deputy chairman of Kingfisher and a non-executive director of Hammerson. 

Baroness Jay

Carl G Symon

Clayton Brendish

Carl G Symon
Carl Symon, a US national, was appointed to the Board on 14 January 2002. He was formerly chairman and chief executive officer of IBM UK. Aged 58. Other appointments: non-executive director of Rolls-Royce and Rexam; chairman of a number of private companies.


Clayton Brendish
Clay Brendish was appointed to the Board on 1 September 2002. He retired in 2001 as executive deputy chairman of CMG, having joined its board when it acquired Admiral, of which he was co-founder and executive chairman. Aged 57.
Other appointments: non-executive chairman of Beacon Investment Fund; non-executive director of Elexon and Herald Investment Trust; trustee of Economist Newspapers and Foundation for Liver Research. 


Go to top

BT Group plc 2004

Privacy Policy

Privacy policy